Skip to contentSkip to footer

R & J Car Sales Ltd

Customer Rating

3.9 out of 5

Rating breakdown

  • AutoTrader
    3.9(27 reviews)
Had an experience with this dealer?

Customer Reviews (27)

  • Sold dangerous car

    By Russell B 25 Days ago

    An awful experience. Don’t be fooled by these salesman- we were sold a car which had dangerous break cables !! Unforgivable that they put our lives and others at risk. Apparently the car been checked over by their mechanic. Either this was untrue or a very bad mechanic. Due to COVID we couldn’t get the car serviced until 6 weeks after buying it, when it was our garage would not let us take the car due to the break cables being severely worn and bulging under breaking. This was an existing problem which in no way could happen within the 6 weeks we had the car. Spoke to R & J and sent emails with evidence as requested, after numerous calls and emails they simply did not want to know as the car was out of warranty. Shocking service - be very careful with these people !

    Reply from R & J Car Sales Ltd

    24 Days ago

    Hi Russell- Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your car. thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear you have been having issues with the vehicle you purchased from us 2 months ago, we have checked our records and can find no issues reported to us within your guarantee period. We do offer extended warranty policies at the point of sale which cover against the unexpected but sadly one of these was not taken out. I hope you get your vehicle sorted swiftly and if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Kind Regards, the R&j car sales Team

  • Waste of time

    By Jane S on 13 Aug

    Awful. I arranged a viewing for 4pm, took time off work and drove 1.5 hours to get there. On arrival nobody was there and the shop was closed. I rang them and they said they were on their way. 25 minutes later their colleague arrived with no clue of my viewing and called the owner to be told his car had broken down and they were now driving the car I had arranged to view from their other location. When the owner did finally arrive he asked me what vehicle I’d arranged to see despite me already telling him 4 times before and he quite clearly had not driven it from the other location. The car I wanted to view was nowhere to be seen. They could not care less about the car or the inconvenience. My advise would be to spend your money elsewhere as I believe their vehicles are not what they advertise them as and it is a waste of time

    Reply from R & J Car Sales Ltd

    24 Days ago

    Hi Jane - Thanks for taking the time to leave us your rating and feedback. We are sorry to hear you were unable to locate the car you wanted on this occasion, and that you felt your experience was an unhelpful one. Your feedback has been passed to the Store, and we will update our response shortly. Regards, the R&J car sales Team.

  • Car not as described in advert

    By Simon W on 12 Aug

    Test drove a car that claimed to be in "Unbelievable condition". It seemed ok so we left a deposit subject to it passing its MOT. The following day I checked on line to see how it had done. It failed on:- Emissions, both rear brake pipes excessively corroded, nearside rear axle swivel pins and bushes excessively worn,both front coil springs fractured. both front suspension arm pin or bush excessively worn. warnings :- Front brake disc worn or pitted, Oil leak but not excessive, offside rear tyre worn. Dangerous :- parking brake less than 50% efficiency. Offside rear parking brake inoperative. Having showed our mechanic this report he said don't touch that car. I agree. not my idea of "unbelievable condition" unless you mean unbelievably bad. However the dealer has refused to return our deposit. AVOID !

    Reply from R & J Car Sales Ltd

    24 Days ago

    Hi Simon - Thanks for taking the time to leave us your rating. We are sorry that you appear to have had a negative experience with us. We would really like the opportunity to hear more about this, and see if there is any way we can help. Please may we ask you to contact the store directly on 01422 374414 and our team will be more than happy to assist? Regards, the R&J car sales Team.

  • MUST VISIT THIS GEM

    By MARK J on 07 Feb

    Great experience down at R&J car sales today. All of the staff are very helpful and approachable with a laid back atmosphere i felt no preassure at all to purchase the car. R J helped me with the car i was interested in and applied no pressure at all during my experience, it was great! Great prices and Great team!

    Reply from R & J Car Sales Ltd

    on 13 Feb

    Hi Mark- Thanks for your 5-star review and great feedback on your pleasant, no-hassle and excellent car buying experience with us. Thanks for your feedback. Kind Regards, R&J car sales team

  • Things go wrong some time

    By Jane G on 13 Jan

    These people are great although things went wrong with car I had purchased I couldnt have had better support from a main dealer garage

    Reply from R & J Car Sales Ltd

    on 14 Jan

    Thats great news your car is just as you wanted thank you for your 5* review please let your friends and family know we have a wide range of quality pre-owned vehicles for sale happy driving.

See more reviews

The views expressed in these Customer reviews are solely the opinion of the reviewers and not of Auto Trader.