• Toyota Avensis gets new trim designations
• Follow-me-home headlights now standard across the range
• Prices start at £19,155 for the entry-level petrol saloon

The 2013 model year Toyota Avensis is now available in four new trim levels, which brings it into line with the company’s other family cars, the Verso and Auris.

Toyota will replace the current T2, TR, T4 and T Spirit names with Active, Icon, Icon Plus and Excel on the Avensis saloon and estate. These are like-for-like replacements, albeit with a few changes.

The Avensis now features ‘follow-me-home’ headlights as standard across the range, which keeps the headlights on for a set period of time after locking the car, supposedly lighting the way to your front door after leaving the car. All cars, apart from the entry-level Active models will also now feature DAB digital radio as standard, while top-spec Excel models also get a brushed silver finish for the centre console.

There will be a choice of 10 exterior colours, with pearlescent ‘Pearl white’ now available for the first time. The range of engines and gearboxes remains unchanged, with a choice of a 1.8-litre petrol engine and 2.0 and 2.2-litre diesels, as well as a 2.2-litre D-CAT diesel option. These channel their power to the front wheels via either a six-speed manual, six-speed automatic or a CVT gearbox.

The new trim levels will go on sale on April 1, with prices running from £19,155 (£260 more than before) for a 1.8 Valvematic petrol-powered saloon in Active trim, up to the £29,895 2.2-litre D-CAT diesel estate in Excel form. This is considerably more than the class-favourite Ford Mondeo and only slightly less than the Vauxhall Insignia and Volkswagen Passat.

By James Richardson

Find an Avensis in our classifieds